Dairy Free Rice Krispies bars?!?

Nutella Cookies
Posted on 11/04/2012 by lbfmusic
Hi bakebakebake r's!

I was wondering if anyone has ever made dairy free Rice Krispie bars. I know that the "original" recipe from the website has butter in it. However, I want to make them for a group of kids, one of whom I know has a dairy allergy.

I am hoping someone here has made something that doesn't use a dairy product. Can anyone help???
owner_of_dooom 5th-Nov-2012 11:55 am (UTC)
I always made them with kremelta as a kid, not entirely sure how much of a ratio was required, but I remember kremelta and honey and rice bubbles being used to make something delicious. Maybe just substitute it at a 1:1 ratio? Or anything similar to kremelta :)
owner_of_dooom 5th-Nov-2012 12:01 pm (UTC)
I googled a bit and found this one:

1/4 c butter
1 tsp vanilla
30 large marshmellows -- in Canada and US these are "Kraft" and are larger than the ones here
4 to 5 c rice crispies

first- grease a large pan 13 by 9 inch pan

then, in a large pot melt the butter and then add the marshmellow. Melt completely stirring over low heat.

Take off heat, add the vanilla and then the rice crispies.

Coat.

And put int the pan. Let cool. But do cut before it goes hard.



and this is one for a chocolate version:

180g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
65g Kremelta (vegetable shortening)
4 cups puffed rice breakfast cereal
Paper cases

1. Place chocolate and Kremelta in a heatproof bowl and place over a saucepan of simmering water or microwave for 2 to 3 minutes to melt.

2. Stir the puffed rice into the melted chocolate mixture. Mix well to coat cereal in chocolate.

3. Place spoonfuls in paper cases and leave to set.


Hope that helps!
slian_martreb 5th-Nov-2012 12:05 pm (UTC)
Dairy-free margarine, exchanged cup for cup.

I don't know where you live, but here in the U.S., the brand Fleishman's is Dairy Free. Or, you can just look in the Kosher aisles for 'Jewish' brands, such as Mehadrin.

You want to look for symbols that don't include mentions of Dairy, such as the OU (letter 'u' inside a circle) or the cRc (not a typo. And, if it's dairy, it would be cRc Dairy). You can do a Google search for 'Kosher Pareve hechsher' or 'Kosherh Pareve symbols' -- Pareve, or Parve, implies that it is inherently non-dairy and a hechsher is the kosher certification.

Good luck!
maidenmorticia 5th-Nov-2012 12:25 pm (UTC)
Yes, was going to say this, too. To add: Be sure to read the ingredients list for something called "casein" in them which is a dairy by-product.

In the US there is also the vegan spread, Earth Balance, which is completely dairy free.
mercy_rain 5th-Nov-2012 01:29 pm (UTC)
If there are casein, caseinates, or whey in a product with a hechsher, it will be hechshered as dairy.

Earth Balance is my preferred non-dairy butter sub - it behaves reasonably well.
slian_martreb 5th-Nov-2012 05:17 pm (UTC)
Thanks for reminding me -- if you're in the U.S, manufacturers are required by law to state, in plain English, whether a food product contains one of the top 8 allergens (milk is one of them).

So if you're in the U.S, looking for the word 'milk' is good enough, but you may have to look for 'casein' if you're elsewhere.
beautyizdead 5th-Nov-2012 12:49 pm (UTC)
Light Blue Bonnet stick is vegan and only .99$ for them. Thats what I use for my vegan foods.
sadisticsidhe 5th-Nov-2012 02:20 pm (UTC)
My sister is allergic to milk so I've made tons of things dairy free, including Rice Krispie Treats. Just replace the butter with margarine, no need to alter the ratio or anything. Most margarines are dairy free (like we buy the grocery store brand with no problem), though make sure to double check the ingredients. Big ones to look for (besides the obvious like buttermilk!) are: Casein, whey, sodium caseinate, 'artificial' butter flavoring.

They'll come out just as delicious!
softngentle 5th-Nov-2012 02:56 pm (UTC)
you could replace the butter cup for cup with coconut oil if no one is allergic to coconut it would add a tropical flavor
sunktheglow 5th-Nov-2012 03:01 pm (UTC)
I recommend Earth Balance, too. I use it to replace butter cup for cup in recipes and I don't ever even miss the butter.
what_is_written 5th-Nov-2012 06:37 pm (UTC)
Just buy dairy free butter/margarine. There are lots of different kinds. My mom and I would do this for my nephew and they came out just fine.
woobeans 5th-Nov-2012 09:25 pm (UTC)
you can also use coconut butter. it has very little coconut taste and acts a lot like butter.
amberbaka 5th-Nov-2012 09:34 pm (UTC)
Another vote for coconut butter - it tastes a little bit different but in a good way.
sharpietoday 6th-Nov-2012 02:27 am (UTC)
As some the of the commenters said above. Earth Balance brand is great like, coconut butter is great to use. You should be able to find it at your local Whole Foods, Trader Joe's or local popular health store.
eiricmacbean 7th-Nov-2012 05:31 am (UTC)
Heh. Blue Bonnet or any decent margarine works just fine. If the marshmallow is a problem, there is a rice-based marshmallow fluff available, but I'm not sure how that would work.
GoDairyFree 8th-Nov-2012 04:19 am (UTC)
Earth balance has lots of dairy-free margarine varieties, and there are some other margarines that are dairy-free / casein-free. If using coconut oil, use just 1/4 cup - it has a higher fat content and will make them greasier if you use too much.

Here are some fun crispy treat recipes:
Strawberry-Cocoa Crispy Treats - http://www.godairyfree.org/recipes/strawberry-cocoa-crispy-treats
Healthier Choc Chip Crispy Treats - http://www.godairyfree.org/news/nutrition-headlines/practically-award-winning-chocolate-chip-crispy-cereal-treats
This page was loaded Jul 12th 2014, 6:49 am GMT.